(via NHL releases 2013-14 schedule, new division names - CBSSports.com)

The NHL released its 2013-14 schedule on Friday and answered the question as to what it would name its new divisions under the league’s realignment.

The regular season will open on Oct. 1.

As for the divisions, say hello to the Atlantic, Central, Pacific and Metropolitan. The only one that should be new to NHL fans is the last one, which will include the RangersIslanders,FlyersPenguinsCapitalsDevilsHurricanes and Blue Jackets.

Under the new alignment, Eastern Conference teams (the Metropolitan and Atlantic divisions) will have 30 games against their division opponents (five games vs. four teams, and four games vs. five teams) and 24 games against conference opponents outside of their division. They also play 28 interconference games (one on the road and one at home).

Western Conference teams will play their division opponents 29 times (five games vs. five teams and four games vs. one team) and 21 games vs. conference opponents outside of their division. Western conference teams will play 32 interconference games (two at home, two on the road).

Every team will travel to every NHL city at least once.

The new division alignments are as follows:

Eastern Conference

Metropolitan: Carolina, Columbus, New Jersey, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, Washington

Atlantic: Boston, Buffalo, Detroit, Florida, Montreal, Ottawa, Tampa Bay, Toronto

Western Conference

Central: Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Minnesota, St. Louis, Nashville, Winnipeg

Pacific: Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Jose, Vancouver

  1. kygarbs reblogged this from justinssportscorner and added:
    The east is so fucked
  2. justinssportscorner posted this